Dismantle the System | Hoopdance ARTivism

I love art. It helps me express myself, find myself, be myself – like anything else. Besides photography and digital art, I also express myself through other art forms, such as music and dance. Today, I would like to share with you how I express myself through Hoopdance.

hoopartivism

Below you can watch a video I did last year. I decided to combine my love for Hoopdance with my love for the Earth. Because I know many people enjoy watching hooping videos, I thought “why not combine something beautiful and artful with a very meaningful and important message to everyone?”. So that’s what I tried to do with the video below :)

I have many other hoopdancing videos, which I can share here later on, but this is definitely one of my favourites. The background song is called “Niiv” and belongs to Omnia, one of my favourite bands as they also use their art – music – to share their Earth message with the world. Hope you enjoy my “hoopdance artivism” and let me know your thoughts! :)

Video’s text (written in June 2015):

In this video, I use the expression of my beloved art – HoopDance – to bring awareness to the challenges we are going through on our Planet Earth. This is a topic close to my heart and I decided to use HoopDance to spread the message that we all need to act and do something, no matter our gender, age, nationality, religious beliefs, etc. Big or small, our actions DO make a difference. And the best thing is that once you start acting, you can never go back, and everyday, every month, every year, you are adding new positive actions to the world, learning more and more about new alternative & sustainable ways of living, taking action for yourself and for your community. TRUE action and TRUE change starts inside each one of us. You might join activism groups and sign many petitions, but true change happens when you commit yourself to change your own habits and do better everyday for you, the future generations and all live on Earth. At the end of the day, it’s not the Earth we are trying to save, but ourselves. Nevertheless, what are we but not Nature? What are we but not the Universe? We ARE Nature, and the biggest realization is not that we have to save Nature or the Planet because it’s cute and we enjoy walking on a forest once in a while… We have to take action because this is our Home, we have nowhere else to go, Nature is literally our mother and our well-being deeply depends on her her well-being. It’s simple, it’s straightforward, it’s real. Evolution shows us that all life is related, we are truly connected, and disassociate ourselves from the Earth is separating ourselves from us. And we can still reconnect with our own roots. It’s still not too late.

If you want to make a difference, start by yourself and your local community. Search about permaculture and all things related to it. Stop watching regular news and search for better independent alternatives. Read a lot about sustainable and off-grid living. Connect with your community, support your local farmers, talk with them and learn how they produce their/YOUR food. Learn about ecology and how all things are related. Reduce consumerism, buy only what’s needed and essential, support local markets, buy local. Produce your own food on your balcony, little square of dirty just outside your own door, on your roof, on your farm. Read about vertical gardens and urban permaculture. Start community gardens, share the surplus with your neighbour. Avoid at all cost processed food that is indeed not food at all! Buy organic, don’t contribute to factory farms, know how your food comes to your plate. This and so much more, do what’s best for you, from this list or not. But do it! Remember from Cloudatlas: “My life amounts to no more than one drop in a limitless ocean. Yet what is any ocean, but a multitude of drops?”. You can make a difference. Start today.

Visit my Hoopdance website here: http://nativahoops.com/en/

2 thoughts on “Dismantle the System | Hoopdance ARTivism

Leave a Reply

