The dividing line is imaginary

The nitrogen in our DNA, the calcium in our teeth, the iron in our blood, the carbon in our apple pies were made in the interiors of collapsing stars. We are made of starstuff.
Carl Sagan, Cosmos

This quote makes me shiver. The realization that we are all connected on such a deep level is simply breathtaking to me. In a world where everyone seems to constantly wish to divide, separate and isolate, looking up to the night sky late at night soothes my troubled spirit and clears my mind. We are indeed connected, so much that it is impossible to draw boundaries separating individuals, communities, ecosystems, galaxies. Everything is starstuff… animals, trees, bacteria… houses, fridges and cars… we truly are connected, just like… family.

This reinforces a lot my animistic views of the world. Everything is alive. It doesn’t matter in which category we, humans, have placed certain living beings or certain objects… even the computer I’m writing on this blog post in ultimately made of the same elements as myself. And one day will reintegrate Nature, just as myself.

The dividing line is imaginary. Many lines have been created to separate us, humans, from the rest of the world. It’s now time to destroy them and come back home.

I have always felt a deep fascination for the Universe. But only recently did I initiate myself in astrophotography. I’m still a total beginner, but nevertheless happy with my latest photo results, which you can see below (way better than my very first astrophotos ehehe). I hope you like them too :)

20160922-dsc_0215-220160922-dsc_0221-2

Save

Leave a Reply

