Autumn. And saying goodbye to my little spot in Croatia.

Autumn has arrived. And we have been preparing our travel back to Portugal. So much is going through my mind right now. I have so many mixed feelings! On one hand, I am super happy to go back because so many new adventures await us and I can barely stay still just thinking about it. But on the other hand… it has been 1 year and 6 months living in Croatia, and 1 year and 4 months living in this little place facing the mountains called Kotlenice. Every day, I take some moments to appreciate this place and all the living beings that lived here with me during this whole time. The trees, the rocks, the moss, the birds, all of them were my best companions here. I learned so much about myself as well. There were very hard times, but I realised I needed to go deep into myself to better understand many things. Now our time here is over, but I take in my mind and heart the sight of the mountains every single morning, the songs of the birds in early Spring, the feeling of the wind in my skin and the colours of the ever changing seasons.

Although rain has started to be more predominant these days, last Monday was such a sunny day that I took the opportunity to go for a walk with Maria and enjoy each and every moment. The new leaf colours were breathtaking. The sun was shining strongly and it was warm, almost like a gentle Summer. Maria was happy as usual, running around like a mad dog. Mad with happiness and freedom :) Everything was truly perfect. The perfect day to say goodbye to all my living family here – the mountains, trees, birds, rocks, moss…

Some friends have questioned us why we have decided to leave if we love it here so much. There are many reasons – for instance, being far away from family and friends – but one of the main reasons is because we really want to start our long term dream: a sustainable farm/rewilding project. And our dream was always to have this farm in our homeland to help regenerate the Nature of the place that saw us be born. So at this moment we want to give it a try once more. If not, we might have to emigrate once again, if we realise we need to save more to make this project happen. But for now, I want to believe it is possible. I feel hopeful and I want to keep that little flame alive.

Last but not least, as you may have noticed, I’m not very good at keeping this blog updated. And due to the long travel and all that is waiting for us, it might take a while for me to post again such a long blog. Nevertheless, I do update both my instagram accounts: @ana.filipa.crow for my photography and @anafilipacrow for other projects and more personal stuff. Feel free to follow me there :) And now, below… the photos of my day out with Maria. Hope you enjoy them :)

20161017-dsc_0235 20161017-dsc_0243 20161017-dsc_0249 20161017-dsc_0258 20161017-dsc_0274 20161017-dsc_0283

 

Save

Leave a Reply

